Jump to content

UNESCO Creative Cities Network

The UNESCO Creative Cities Network (UCCN) was created in 2004 to promote cooperation with and among cities that have identified creativity as a strategic factor for sustainable urban development. The Network contains seven creative fields: literature; crafts and folk art; design; film; gastronomy; media arts and music. Reykjavík has been a UNESCO City of Literature since 2011.

The UCCN is a growing network with new cities being designated every other year. The title is a permanent one, as long as the designated cities stay active within the network.

Frá ársfundi bókmenntaborga UNESCO í Reykjavík 2021

Cities of literature

listed in the order of designation:

At the UNESCO Cities of Literature website (citiesoflit.com) you can find information about the cities as well as information for the media and for new or aspiring literary cities. 

Cities submit bids to UNESCO in order to be evaluated as possible UNESCO Cities of Literature. Ones designated, the designations are monitored and reviewed every four years by UNESCO.