Jump to content
  • Davíð‘s Pen

    The Union of Icelandic Writers (a splinter group of The Icelandic Writers' Union) hosted an annual prize called Davíð's Pen, on the birthday of Icelandic author Davíð Stefánsson, 21. January, from 1991-1997.
    Read more
  • Fjöruverðlaunin – The Women’s Literature Prize

    The Icelandic Women's Literature Prize is awarded to books by women, both fiction and non-fiction.
    Read more
  • Guðrún Helgadóttir Children‘s Literature Prize

    The Prize was founded by the City of Reykjavik in 2018 in honour of Guðrún Helgadóttir, one of Iceland’s most prominent children's book authors.
    Read more
  • Alþjóðleg bókmenntaverðlaun Halldórs Laxness

    Halldór Laxness International Literature Prize

    The award is hosted by the Icelandic Prime Minister's Office, the Minister of Education, Science and Culture, Business Iceland, Laxness' publisher Forlagið, Gljúfrasteinn and Reykjavík International Literary Festival.
    Read more
  • Icelandic Nominations to the Nordic Council Children and Young People‘s Literature Prize

    One of five awards given by the Nordic Council each year, and the most recent one. First awarded in 2013.
    Read more
  • Bók

    Icelandic Nominations to the Nordic Council‘s Literature Prize

    The Nordic Council‘s Literature Prize was first awarded in 1962. It is awarded to an author of a work of fiction, written in one of the Nordic languages.
    Read more
  • Icelandic Winners of the European Union Prize for Literature

    The Prize is financed by the Creative Europe programme of the European Commission.
    Read more
  • RÚV Writers‘ Fund

    The Icelandic Broadcasting Service (RUV) awards one or more writers each year on December 20th.
    Read more
  • Sögusteinn – IBBY Iceland’s Children’s Literature Prize

    IBBY Iceland (International Board on Books for Young People) has hosted this prize since 2007. It is given to writers and / or illustrators whose children's books who have enriched Icelandic children's literature.
    Read more